I decided to take a lightning trip out to Ely, Nevada, for the annular eclipse yesterday. I left Friday afternoon, returned Saturday, 27 hours total, with a very light sleep in Tonopah. I’m a little muddled about what day it is and where I am.

But thanks to the loan of some sun filters from my neighbor, I was well prepared to take some photos, and Ely, though all the hotels were booked solid, was still basically empty, so logistics were easy. The optimal spot was about an hour north of Ely, on highway 93, but as I drove north, the valley was increasingly covered with clouds. Worried that the event would be obscured, I decided to stop short. I found a turnout with just a few cars there already, even thought the eclipse was well underway. Such is life in Nevada.

I arrived after the eclipse started, so I took a hand-held test shot through the clouds. It turned out to be one of my favorites.

The sun, partially eclipsed by the moon, sen through a thin veil of clouds.

The fully formed ring was amazing, but I also enjoyed the moments leading up to the coincidence. At one point, the sun really reminded me of Viking horns (which apparently aren’t historically accurate, alas).

The sun, almost fully eclipsed by the moon, but still with one edge covered, so the sun looks like horns.

Even closer to the peak moment, the moon was tangent to the sun, which produced this earring effect.

The sun, eclipsed by the moon, such that the edge of the sun and moon touch, so that the ring is barely visible that point, and widens as it goes around to the opposite side.

You may note the change in color between images. It varies throughout my film roll and I don’t have a good explanation yet.

I’m glad I took the trip, both because of the immediate experience, and because I am now far better prepared for the full eclipse next spring.