This month, I’m posting photos from throughout the year, some “best of”, some that were held back, for whatever reason. And unlike my daily photo posts, I’m hoping for longer form writing. I want to remember, tidy up, reflect, celebrate, summarize, and turn a new page.

Ideally, I’d like this to be an annual endeavor, prepared throughout the year, with commentary, and storylines weaving together. The result should be something that’s printable, less seasonal than an advent calendar, more coherent than a photo calendar, perhaps something like the cross between a holiday card and a coffee table book.

The preparation bit is lagging behind, and I’m not sure if I will be able to fit this into my holiday schedule, but I guess I won’t know until I try.

I’m starting with a photo of the Eastern Sierra Nevada covered in snow, though I don’t know exactly which stretch. I don’t remember taking this photo, nor do I know exactly what bit of the Sierra this is, and that’s part of what drew me to start with it. I am reminded that more happens in a year than we can remember, and that taking time in the present to document photoshoots can be worth the effort.

But I remember the storm that brought this snow, offering the promise of a full snow pack that was not fulfilled. All that snow was gone months before it usually disappears. So I’m thinking I will get out more this winter to enjoy it.